McCrimmon wins provincial by-election

By Jake Davies - West Carleton Online

KANATA-CARLETON – Former Liberal MP Karen McCrimmon will be the first Liberal to represent West Carleton at Queen’s Park following tonight’s (July 27) Kanata-Carleton by-election.

McCrimmon won the riding in Thursday’s by-election with 34.35 per cent of the vote, defeating Progressive Conservative candidate Sean Webster by 651 votes.

NDP candidate Melissa Coenraad finished third.

“I’m thrilled to be serving the residents of Kanata-Carleton once again,” McCrimmon released in a statement following the by-election. “This election is a message to Doug Ford that Ontarians aren’t happy with his policies. Kanata-Carleton wants a strong advocate at Queen’s Park and a representative that will fight for what matters to them.”

The by-election was called following the resignation of PC Party MPP and cabinet minister Dr. Merrilee Fullerton last March. Her departure left the Ottawa region without any cabinet representation in Ontario Premier Doug Ford’s government.

Webster released a statement congratulating McCrimmon on her victory.

“I wish to thank my supporters and volunteers, who have stood with me throughout this campaign,” Webster said. “Together, we knocked on thousands of doors and met so many amazing people. This has been the experience of a lifetime. Thank you to Premier Doug Ford for the opportunity to run in this election as the Ontario PC Candidate. The Ontario PC government will continue to get it done for Ottawa, and I know that our province’s best days are ahead.”

McCrimmon previously represented Kanata-Carleton in the House of Commons as MP from 2015 to 2021.

She is a 31-year veteran of the Canadian Armed Forces, who retired as a lieutenant colonel. She was the first woman to command a Canadian Forces air force squadron.

McCrimmon is the fourth Liberal MPP representing the Ottawa area. She joins Ottawa South MPP John Fraser, Orleans MPP Stephen Blais and Ottawa-Vanier MPP Lucille Collard in the Liberal caucus.

As of 10:15 p.m., voter turnout was 35.14 per cent.

The Liberals also won the byelection in the riding of Scarborough-Guildwood. Andrea Hazell held on to the Liberal seat which former cabinet minister Mitzie Hunter held for 10 years until she resigned in May.

Unofficial election results in Kanata-Carleton
  •  Liberal Karen McCrimmon 11,066 votes (34.35 per cent)
  •  Progressive Conservatives Sean Webster 10,415 votes (32.33 per cent)
  •  NDP Melissa Coenraad 9,560 votes (29.68 per cent)
  •  New Blue Party Jennifer Boudreau 638 votes (1.98 per cent)
  •  Green Party Steven Warren 442 votes (1.37 per cent)
  •  Independent Josh Rachlis 90 votes (0.28 per cent)
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

2 thoughts on “McCrimmon wins provincial by-election